Hagström and Kyburz claim first gold medals in Italy

Sara Hagström (SWE) and Matthias Kyburz (SUI) were crowned European champions after a fast sprint race in the scenic streets of central Verona, Italy on Wednesday.

The first race of the European Orienteering Championships was decided just a few meters from the famous Roman amphitheatre Arena Verona, which together with the rest of the city centre provided a beautiful setting for the broadcast on IOF TV.

The 45 fastest men from the qualification race in the morning were first to start and they could flip the map and see a fast course on 3,5 kilometers in front of them.

Switzerland’s Matthias Kyburz managed to pull off the fastest race and won by 4 seconds to his rival in the overall World Cup standings, Kasper Fosser (NOR).

Only one second behind Fosser came Tuomas Heikkila (FIN), who made the biggest result in his international career by snatching the bronze one second more ahead of Martin Regborn (SWE) and Ralph Street (GBR).

The women’s race turned out to be a Swedish fight between Sara Hagström and Tove Alexandersson.

Hagström went first into the finish after the 3 kilometer course in the crowded streets in a clear best time and had to wait for the compatriot to finish.

But Alexandersson was eight seconds too late and ended up with the silver medal and Simona Aebersold took the bronze, 15 seconds after Alexandersson.

Go to results, GPS-tracking and more at IOF LIVE

After a rest day, the European Orienteering Championships and World Cup Round 3 continues on Friday with the Sprint relay in Soave.

The TV-broadcast begins at 15.30 CEST (UTC+2) and the race starts 15 minutes later.

Follow on IOF Live.

Top 6 results:


  1. Sara Hagstrom, SWE 12:17 minutes
  2. Tove Alexandersson, SWE +0:08
  3. Simona Aebersold, SUI +0:23
  4. 纳塔莉亚Gemperle,隋+ 0:28
  5. Aleksandra Hornik, POL +0:32
  6. Lina Strand, SWE +0:45


1. Matthias Kyburz, SUI 12:26 minutes
2. Kasper Harlem Fosser, NOR +0:04
3. Tuomas Heikkila, FIN +0:05
4. Martin Regborn, SWE +0:06
4. Ralph Street, GBR +0:06
6. Jonatan Gustafsson +0:16

Photo: IOF / Kristina Lindgren